PGA Tour

Player Impact Program: Rory McIlroy replaces Tiger Woods

After a successful year on the course, Rory McIlroy has also scooped a huge bonus off the course: He comes out on top in the Player Impact Program.

Rory McIlroy secures victory in the PGA Tour’s Player Impact Program 2023 and receives a bonus of 15 million US dollars. He takes over from Tiger Woods, who has won the title in recent years. Woods is in second place this year and will receive prize money of 12 million US dollars.

Player Impact Program: Rory McIlroy walks away with 15 million US dollars

The Player Impact Program was introduced in 2020/21 to reward players who generate the most positive interest for the PGA Tour through their media presence. Various criteria are measured: Internet searches, number of news articles, visibility of sponsor logos on TV, general awareness and social media impact. McIlroy came out on top of the top 20 based on these criteria this year, with a total prize money of 100 million US dollars distributed among them. “The scoring model for the program is intended to be as objective as possible with the goal of quantifying the impact each player has on the PGA Tour,” Jason Gore, the Tour’s executive vice president and chief player officer, wrote in a memo.

Rory McIlroy recently attracted attention in the golf world with his withdrawal from the PGA Tour Politics Committee and the postponement of the start of the TGL League, which he founded with Tiger Woods, by one year. His commitment to the PGA Tour and his success on the course continue to make him the face of the Tour, especially when competing against the up-and-coming LIV Tour. In addition to McIlroy’s sporting achievements, his victory in the Player Impact Program now also recognizes his positive impact on awareness and interest in golf.

The top 20 of the Player Impact Program is as follows:

  1. Rory McIlroy — $15 million
  2. Tiger Woods — $12 million
  3. Jon Rahm — $9 million
  4. Jordan Spieth — $7.5 million
  5. Scottie Scheffler — $6 million
  6. Rickie Fowler — $5.5 million
  7. Viktor Hovland — $5 million
  8. Justin Thomas — $5 million
  9. Tommy Fleetwood — $5 million
  10. Max Homa — $5 million
  11. Xander Schauffele — $3 million
  12. Jason Day — $3 million
  13. Tony Finau — $3 million
  14. Collin Morikawa — $3 million
  15. Matt Fitzpatrick — $3 million
  16. Wyndham Clark — $2 million
  17. Cameron Young — $2 million
  18. Justin Rose — $2 million
  19. Patrick Cantlay — $2 million
  20. Brian Harman — $2 million