Ryder Cup 2023 (Teams, Tee Times, Format and Everything You Need to Know)

Every two years in autumn, the world watches the continental competition in golf. The Ryder Cup, in which Team Europe and Team USA compete against each other, takes place alternately in the United States and on European soil.

After the tournament was again postponed to the odd years due to the Corona pandemic, the 2023 Ryder Cup will be held at the Marco Simone Golf and Country Club in Rome from 29 September to 1 October.

Ryder Cup: Duel with tradition between Europe and the USA

A British seed merchant gave the cup its name. Born in Preston in 1858, Samuel Ryder did not start playing golf until he was 50. The Englishman, who made his fortune by selling plant seeds in small quantities, hoped to become healthier on the lawn. In 1927, he donated a cup: the Ryder Cup. He was inspired to do so by a match between English and American golfers. But he changed the format of the game. The Americans won the first Ryder Cup in Worchester (Massachusetts) by a clear 9.5 to 2.5 points.

Since then, every two years – with an interruption during the Second World War, a postponement due to the terrorist attacks on 11 September 2001 and the Corona pandemic in 2020 – the best golfers in Europe and the USA compete against each other in teams of twelve players. The venues change continuously.

How The Ryder Cup Format Works

While in golf one usually plays “against the course”, the Ryder Cup is held in match play mode. In the “man against man” competition, the golfers have to prove not only their technical skills but also their mental abilities. One point is awarded to the team for each victory; in the event of a tie, both teams are awarded half a point. If both teams have the same number of points at the end of the tournament, the defending champion is declared the winner.

Ryder Cup 2023 Teams

Team Europe Team USA
Luke Donald (Captain) Zach Johnson (Captain)
Tyrell Hatton Sam Burns
Viktor Hovland Patrick Cantlay
Rory McIlroy Wyndham Clark
Jon Rahm Rickie Fowler
Matt Fitzpatrick Brian Harman
Robert MacIntyre Max Homa
Tommy Fleetwood Brooks Koepka
Justin Rose Collin Morikawa
Shane Lowry Xander Schauffele
Nicolai Hojgaard Scottie Scheffler
Sepp Straka Jordan Spieth
Ludvig Aberg Justin Thomas