PGA Tour

PGA Tour: Cameron Smith wins Player Championship 2022

Australias Cameron Smith takes the PGA Tours flagship event, The Players Championship 2022.

Cameron Smith wins the Players Championship, the most important tournament on the PGA Tour. The Australian won by one stroke ahead of Anirban Lahiri in second place and Paul Casey in third. For his victory at the TPC Sawgrass, Smith collects 3.6 million dollars, one of the highest prize money ever in golf for a tournament victory. On the final day, the 28-year-old carded a round of 66 on the par-72 course to record an overall score of -13 for the tournament.

After five birdies on the first six holes, it initially looked as if Smith could pull away early. But after three bogeys in a row at the end of the front nine, the Australian came under pressure again. Right at the start of the second nine, he then set off on another series of birdies. Smith only recorded one par until the 14th hole. So he went into the last hole with a seemingly safe three-stroke lead. A missed fairway and a free shot from the pine needles into the water changed the situation dramatically on the last hole.

Lahiri was suddenly back within striking distance and, after Smith’s bogey on the 18th, had a chance to go into the play-off with a birdie. But the Indian left his approach too short and missed the chip-in. For sole second place, he receives prize money of more than two million dollars.

Dustin Johnson ties course record

Dustin Johnson showed the best round of the day, tieing the course record with a 63 (-9). The 37-year-old finished the Players Championship with an eagle hole out on the 18th. “DJ” played the back nine with only 29 strokes.

After several weather disputes, the Players Championship could only be finished on Monday. The first round alone lasted three days due to rain and thunderstorm interruptions. On the last day of the tournament, the professionals not only completed the final round, but also had to play the rest of the third round in the morning. The last time the Players Championship was finished on a Monday was in 2005.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.