At the US Open 2025, it’s not just the narrow fairways and lightning-fast greens that make the pros sweat and think—it’s also the ditches. Yes, ditches. Dry, rather unremarkable, and yet officially part of the course, they come into play on six holes. And they prove that knowing the rules is not just for officials. Rory McIlroy knew that well when, during the US Open 2025 at Oakmont, he sent his drive into one of the notorious ditches on the 9th hole. They may look harmless, but these ditches are considered red penalty areas.
Golf Rule Education at the US Open 2025: Rory Shows How It’s Done
The USGA and The R&A lay it out clearly in Rule 17.1: If your ball ends up in a red penalty area, you have options. Play it as it lies, take stroke-and-distance relief, drop back on the line, or take lateral relief. After his errant tee shot, McIlroy opted for what many amateurs often do—but few pros execute so coolly: lateral relief, thank you Rule 17.1d(3). Two club-lengths from the entry point into the penalty area, no closer to the hole, and one penalty stroke. Rule-compliant and smart, because in Oakmont, “playing it as it lies” often means: playing it where it really shouldn’t be. And just to round it out, the USGA provided a handy explainer video on X.
Learn more about your options if you find yourself in a similar situation as Rory when you play at your local course. pic.twitter.com/DsuXcDkQog
— USGA (@USGA) June 14, 2025